Buying An 8M+ Caravan And Re-Fitting For Three?

luckycat

Hi all

First, please be gentle I am a caravanning newbie.

Our plan is to go caravaning around Europe for a year - probably in 2016. There is me, my wife and our kid who will be 2. 8 years old then - idea is to take time out before she starts school.

I'm fixated on what could be a stupid idea at the moment and would love to hear your input. Given the amount of time we're travelling, I'd like to make our living environment as efficient as possible. I have seen quite a few fairly large caravans (around the 8m mark) which are all 6 berth caravans.

The size looks good, and the plan would be to refit the caravan with one double bed and a child's bed, giving us more floor space for, e. g. a "play area"/"mobile office". Add to that an awning and I think that'd be ample room for us to live in for a year.

The issue (as always) is money. Does anyone have any idea how much it would cost to get a carvan refitted? I'd guess that we could buy perhaps an older caravan in need of updating for cheaper, but then spend the money saved on refitting. Or are there 3-person large caravans for sale already somewhere?

The caravan will be towed by an X5 so can be quite heavy.

Please let me know your thoughts - please feel free to give advice on things I might have not even considered!

It must be remembered that once you carry out extensive modifications on a caravan there is a possibility that a new certificate of Compliance may be needed to insure it as it is no longer standard. Are you talking about shipping length of 8m or body length of 8m. If the latter you may have issues towing as the X5 will not be suitable. More importantly do you have a B+E driving licence otherwise you are restricted to a maximum of 3500kg gross train weight or a caravan with a MTPLM of less than 800kgs.

Being in Hong Kong, check the local regulations. They might differ from ours.