Slight Wobble When Towing

Sedders

Hi All.

I am quite new to caravanning and have noticed my caravan has a slight wobble when towing.

The towing car is a Volvo XC90 and the caravan is a new Swift Challenger Sport

I don't know whether this has any relevance but the first time I towed the caravan was with a brand new towbar, recently fitted on my car. I noticed a horrible grinding noise so pulled over. I then read on this forum that the black paint needs to be rubbed off the tow ball with sand paper before towing, which I then did. That resolved the grinding noise straight away.

The problem I'm having is the wobbling between 50-60 mph. I read that if you tow without removing the paint first, the pads in the AL-KO stabiliser can become contaminated. Could contaminated pads be whats causing the wobble? I haven't put to much weight in the front of the van or the back and I'm sure it's evenly spread.

Any help would be really appreciated?

Could be caravan tyre pressures or loading of the van or car rear tyre pressures.

:welcome::rolleyes:

Graham

Unless otherwise stated all posts are my personal opinion 

You should have a go at cleaning the pads with brake cleaner fluid and see how it performs,

Can you be sure the van is correctly loaded because that may be the true cause, the stabiliser is only there to reduce the problem.

The pads will not cause a wobble just reduce it?

A properly loaded van should not need a stabiliser. ;)

Ford C-Max and Coachman Festival 380/2 SE 2006    Motto  Carpe Diem

Still trying to find the perfect pitch. ..110 amp Battery+ 65 watt roof mounted Solar and 25 watt Wind Turbine. LED lighting. Status Aerial 315. Loose chattels marked with UV,. Safefill Gas Fitted.

Thanks for all your replies.