Just Thought I Would Mention This

Quite a few people say on this forum, its my first time to travel to Europe what do I need to be aware of etc.

We have been travelling to Europe for a number of years now and I nearly made a silly mistake that all newcomers to travelling in Europe could make and should be aware of.

This mistake nearly cost me my caravan and vehicle and maybe more.

When a another vehicle in Europe flashes their lights at you it does not mean they have seen you and you can now proceed !! in fact it is quite the opposite.

I was trying to enter a busy motorway near Bilbao and a lorry falshed me and I thought, oh he has seen me and is letting me in !! NO NO I moved out and he just kept coming,bloody idiot what is he doing, he is going to ram me and then in a flash( not a head light ) I realised he was saying get out of my way I am coming through even if I have to hit you !!

Do not make the mistake that johhny foreigner think as we do and show courtesy and politeness to our fellow travellers,often they do not !!

malc

Good advice.

However, some trucks on motorways will flash you as you overtake them to indicate that it is safe to pull back in, as they do in the UK. I always flash trucks that are passing me, and get the thankyou flash of the hazard lights in return.

Land Rover is now back towing.

Both abroad and here at home the flashing of headlamps has exactly the same meaning in law as sounding your horn - simply a warning that, "I am here".

We all know that it is also used in the UK to "be polite", either by flashing an overtaking vehicle to move in, or inviting another vehicle to proceed out of a junction. Clearly these are opposite meanings, and are open to misinterpretation. Take care out there, and use your headlamps correctly.

See here where this has been discussed at length.

Gordon.

Fourwinds Hurricane 31D Motorhome. Also MGTF135 1. 8i Roadster (fun) & Volvo V70 3.2Ltr LPG (everyday car)