Tyre Pressure Miracle....

Mick n Debbs

We collected our new (used) 2010 Lunar Clubman a fortnight Ago and after a tow home I was worried. I'd heard stories of I didn't know the van was there etc, etc but I certainly knew it was. Ok it was a windy, blustery day and although the van had the Alko ATC???? which hums reassuringly when you plug it in and the presence of Tyron bands I was still not convinced.

The van was inside the capabilities of the the car (Mazda 6 Touring) but the whole thing felt twitchy and uncomfortable. That was then but after checking the tyre pressures of the car and the the van the whole experience is transformed this weekend. I increased the cars rears by 8psi and left the van alone at 65.

Although I am new to this I would urge any novice who has stability problems to get to the airline at the garage as the first port of call. It was well worth the POUND, yes pound I paid!!

Thanks for the feedback and this info could help others in a similar situation

Graham

Unless otherwise stated all posts are my personal opinion 

Good feedback, always a good idea to increase tyre pressure whilst towing. I also increase my tyres to the max load indicated on the tyre pressure sticker on the door. Sometimes If I am also filling the roofbox and towing then even a couple more PSI to be sure. ..

Never exceed the max as indicated on your tyres though. ..

Edited by dreadly

An eye for an eye only ends up making the whole world blind.

Mahatma Gandhi

When i tow i have to increase the tyre pressures to fully laden. ... Should be a sticker in the door. ..

Also don't forget if you were towing it back from the dealers, both the van and car would have minimal weight in it . ..

Lunar Solaris 1 Limited Edition 2007 Hopefully Behind A

BMW 520D MSport Touring. ...

***** Jack of all Trades. ... Master of None *****