Hi I'm New To Caravaning And Need Help

jen68

Hi we have a 1999 sterling eccles moonstone and its our first van we had a bulb out and when we replaced it all the roof lights went out and the extractor fan wont work

we have checked and replaced fuses and this still has not fixed it. Also the battery doesnt seem to be charging as ghe voltage indicator is not working

any help would be greatly appreciated.

Welcome.

What sort of new bulb did you fit? 240V or 12V?

There is possibly a fuse between the battery and the charger. Often it is hidden away and you have to chase the wires to find it.

I assume you are on site with electrical hookup, the mains is on and you have switched to Charger On if there is such a switch.

Graham

Unless otherwise stated all posts are my personal opinion 

Hi Jen welcome, do you have MCB's fitted on your van,? ours are in the wardrobe, maybe you've tripped one when you put the new bulb in.

Edited by F185

Compass Corona (Magnum) 524 (2003) -----------VW Passat Alltrack 170 BHP DSG

Good call F185 :)

Graham

You wouldn't trip an MCB by changing a bulb! MCB's are only on the 230v electrics. It's more likely to be a faulty fitting or changing the bulb with the power (12v) supply on. Check the 12v fuses.

Do you have a multimeter to test the battery & charging system?

For any additional information or advice please have a look on my website. .....

www. thecaravanmedic-swindon. co. uk

May sound daft, but is the bulb in the right way?

Lunar Solaris 1 Limited Edition 2007 Hopefully Behind A

BMW 520D MSport Touring. ...

***** Jack of all Trades. ... Master of None *****

1st i would remove the bulb disconnect mains input and one side of your on board battery give it 5 to 10 minutes then reconnect the battery and test your other lights etc, then if ok back on with the 240v and see if the charger is okay if so. Either the bulb is wrong or faulty.