Towbar Help!

claremp7

Hi I'm very new to this and we've kind of done this backwards but we've just bought our first caravan but we don't actually have a towbar! The different types of electrics are baffling us. What pin do we need a 7 8 or 13. Can we do it ourselves? Thanks

:welcome:

What plug has your caravan got?

Car - can be EITHER two 7 pin sockets called 12N (black) and 12S (grey) OR the more modern 13 pin socket. There is no 8 pin plug/socket. Adaptors are available if car and van are different.

You can do it yourselves if you really know what you are doing, but my personal advice, for what it's worth, is get a professional to do it.

Graham

Unless otherwise stated all posts are my personal opinion 

Thank you. I'll find out what the caravan is. Can we fit the towbar and get someone to do the electrics or is it better to do it all together?

Hi Clairmp7, welcome to caravan talk, you can fit a towbar yourself I've done it in the past and bought from Towsure, for your mondeo your looking at about £120 for a fixed towbar, then there's the electrics, but to be honest if your cars relatively new I would take it to a professional towbar fitter as newish cars electrics can be a nightmare if your not sure.

Compass Corona (Magnum) 524 (2003) -----------VW Passat Alltrack 170 BHP DSG

I agree with previous posters my son got a towbar including 7 pin electrics for his elderly Subaru Forrester for £72.

But mine cost just shy of £400 fitted for my new Citroen Picasso Grand included £150 fitting cost.

A critical factor in choice of D-I-Y or having it fitted is the age and type of your vehicle.

The newer your vehicle the less chance you have of getting the electrics installed and working.

All the modern electronic relays used by towbar fitters are generalised clones of the vehicle manufacturers "real" ones and they can fail.

Reading the threads on my previous vehicle a Ford Galaxy from new even the Ford £700 job has relay problems!