Nose Weight And Serviced Pitches

Tiger2103

Hi all, we're complete newbies to caravanning, in fact we haven't picked up our purchase yet, I've read a lot about noseweight while towing, am I right in thinking that too little noseweight is as bad as too much ? The tow hitch I've had fitted states a maximum of 85kg noseweight, is this average ? Any tips on balancing a single axle van would be greatly appreciated.

On a separate note, we've been looking at sites to tour and some are showing, super pitches, premium or fully serviced, I'm assuming this means they have a permanent connection to electric and water, with regard to water I've seen devices that fit to an aqua roll that act as a ball valve to stop water once it's full, other devices that allow water to be taken from a drum and others I assume that allow direct connection to mains with an anti flood device . Any tips on which is better / more efficient ?

Thanks in advance

Permanent electrical hook up called EHU is normal.

Super or fully serviced pitches allow connection from a tap to the aquaroll as descibed. Don't have to refill the aquaroll. You need the ballcock thingy and a hose to connect from the tap to the aquaroll. You also need a long length of waste pipe to go from your van to a drain.

Graham

Unless otherwise stated all posts are my personal opinion 

Your tow car has a weight limit on the towbar, the caravan has a noseweight

that allows correct and stable towing, neither should be exceeded.

The term super pitch varies but generally means you have your own freshwater

tap and greywater drainage (and EHU) Mine is a hose from the tap via food grade hose,

to an Aquaroll fitted with a torbeck valve this maintains a level as water is used.

My wastewater is taken from the caravan via your own aux. pipes to a provided

drain, Toilet waste must still be emptied in a purpose built chemical disposal area.

http://www. care-avan. co. uk/superpitch. html