Complete Newbie Seeks Advice On Tow Hitch

Tiger2103

Hi all, we're in the process of buying a 2008 swift conqueror 630, I haven't had a tow bar fitted yet but the ones I've seen on eBay state an alko compatible hitch is an upgrade, my question is do the alko hitches need a certain type of tow bar, does the van have a 13 pin connector or 7 and would you advise a twin electric hook up or single

Apologies if these seem basic knowledge but as I said we're completely new to this

Thanks in anticipation

No special towbar just a extended necked towball

Paul B

. .......Mondeo Estate & Elddis Avanté 505 (Tobago)

13 pin or 2off 7 pin - up to you. The 'modern' way is the single 13 pin but my car had a 7 pin and I regularly use a household trailer so I prefer the 7 pin sockets.

Most b

Here will be on single 13 pin.

Graham

Unless otherwise stated all posts are my personal opinion 

Hi all, we're in the process of buying a 2008 swift conqueror 630, I haven't had a tow bar fitted yet but the ones I've seen on eBay state an alko compatible hitch is an upgrade, my question is do the alko hitches need a certain type of tow bar, does the van have a 13 pin connector or 7 and would you advise a twin electric hook up or single

Apologies if these seem basic knowledge but as I said we're completely new to this

Thanks in anticipation

Most towbars are sold with standard towballs. In your case you will require an Alko towball upgrade (which is taller than the standard towball) to suit the Alko stabiliser hitch on the Swift.

Nothing fancy about this, they usually cost between £25 to £30 and bolt straight onto the towbar.

Your van will have twin 7 pin connectors so you'll probably go for twin 7 pin sockets on the car.

You could fit a 13 pin socket and have an adapter cable which plugs into the twin caravan plugs if you wish but these can be fiddly.