1St Time Towing!

acupofteawouldbenice

Hello everyone, I'm new to Caravan Talk and this is my first post.

On Saturday I'll be towing my caravan for the first time, it's the very first time I have towed anything, ever, I'm terrified.

The caravan I have is a 25 year old 2 berth Abbey, which I've spent the last six months fixing up and equiping ready for caravanning, we are so excited, about using the caravan at long last.

Only thing is that I'm not sure if I'm ready for the road, usually I will have a go at anything, I see others towing caravans and think if they can do it I can too, but it scares me :unsure:

Has anyone got any 1st towing tales to tell, or advice, I'm particularily worried about going through narrower roads with parked vehicles, going up hills, going down hills, in fact I'm worried about the whole thing, help.

Hello and welcome, it is only natural to be nervous your first time. Re narrow roads with parked cars you wait until the road is clear then move out, take your time if you are going slow it is easy to stop if unsure. Going up hill get in low gear prior to climb, coming down hill never overtake and again nice and steady not too quickly. Allow extra gap from vehicle in front, allow more time for braking at junctions etc. allow a longer gap when pulling out onto roundabouts or junctions.

Never set a time of arrival, get there when you get there.

Just think on Saturday night you will be set up in your caravan proud as punch and wondering why you were so worried.

2015 ABI ASHCROFT EXCL