Sign in to follow this  
keithk1981

Water Pump And Lights Not Working

Hi all. Am only new to this forum so forgive me if this question has already been ask. I am new to the caravan seen so am not of any great knowledge of there workings. I recently purchased a trophy 450/5 go touring towing van ( not sure the year but think early 90 ). I can't seem to be able to get the lights or water pump to work . I have it hooked up to 240 mains at the minute and the sockets seem to be the only thing working. There a switch under the seat for 12 volts I have this turned on and still no lights or water pump . Any one any idea and to what the problem may be???? Thanks in advance for any help

Have you checked the battery? is there one?

You will need a multimeter to measure the voltage at the battery terminals with no power connected, then again with power connected.

If the battery is any good it should read around 12. 6v with no power supplied to the van and 13. 8v when you connect up the power lead.

Make sure any circuit breakers are ON (which is UP)

Thanks guys. I have a battery in place but whether its working or not I don't yet know. I need to get a multi metre tomorrow. Do I need a battery in place for my lights etc to work even when hooked up to mains power. Does the battery charge itself also when hooked up to mains. Sorry guys if these question sound silly but I am just a clueless beginner

if you don't have any 12v then your charger may be faulty it may be worth checking its output

how do I check its out put and is it nessesary to have the battery connected even when using 240 volt mains?? Edited by keithk1981

The battery needs to be attached all the time. When mains is connected, called EHU, then the mains will (through the charger), charge up your battery.

If you need a new battery (not a car battery), then do come back to the forum for advice, measuring the battery box so you know the size criteria for it.