Ford S-Max / Swift Conquerer - Is This Van Too Heavy

nickyr

Hi everyone

I'm Nicky and I've just joined the site as I could really use a little guidance regarding towing and ratios from some experienced caravanners. I've been reading a lot of info from a lot of places but figured you guys would be the best people to seek advice from.

I've been towing for a few years now with no problems but with a lighter van. The van is now being upgraded to a Swift Conquerer with a MTPLM of 1670 (this is about 400kg heavier and a metre longer than the previous van) and the kerbweight of my vehicle (inc. the 75kg for driver etc. .) is 1765.

I have two questions really, my first is, am I right in thinking that the percentage towing ratio can be applied to the actual final weights of the car and van. The car will be around 1900 with me, my partner, luggage and awning etc. . in the car, and as we intend to load the majority of our gear into the car rather than the van, the van is likely to be around 1600kg (this allows for the mover, battery, gas etc. .) which brings it down from a 95% ratio to a more manageable 84%.

Also, I haven't towed this van yet and am slightly apprehensive about what differences I can expect to notice towing a larger size and weight caravan, does anyone have any pointers or advice on this (it is single axle).

All advice/info greatfully received, thanks all.

The recommended tow weights ratio is based on caravan weight to car kerbweight and is 85% for an inexperienced tower but could be higher for someone experienced. Most people have difficulty in keeping the weight down so it is simpler to use the MTPLM weight rather than actual weight as the difference for most will be small.

However you cannot use the car actual weight and still keep the same acceptance criteria of 85% as you are not comparing like with like.