Sign in to follow this  
swissbarry

Can Anyone Get Down To My Level?

Can anyone manage to explain to me, in ridiculously simple terms such as you might use with a nincompoop, what I should do and buy in order that we can be sure of having wifi for our laptop in the caravan no matter where we are? We probably spend 5 months a year in the van, traveling in France, Spain, Portugal and Italy.

An added bonus would be if we could have this facility with our iPads, since they're easier to store in the van than laptops. And true delight would be if we could also watch UK TV and get radio 4.

Or am I hoping for too much. ?

Don't know if this is relevant, but we live in France, but would be happy to buy a UK product if necessary.

Hi, i have been using a MiFi unit for a few years now.

Its basically a mobile wifi hotspot which is connected to the 3G mobile phone network. The unit is portable and can operate on battery power for upto ten hours allegedly.

You can have them on Pay as you go or a 30 day rolling month contract with upto 15GB of download.

Not sure how you would go about using it in France though as my knowledge of French mobile phone networks is poor.

Anyway, the MiFi unit allows you to connect upto 10 device and share the same connection. Obviously the more devices connected the slower the data and connection speed will be.

This is the one i have

http://store. three. co. uk/view/product/ql_catalog/threecatdevice/2635;jsessionid=1EB62988723A6AFC208BE020962ED47F

An external aerial connection is available to improve reception and it also has a micro SD card slot to store data on.

Edited by Mark the spark

As your ipad got 3g if so you can get a monthly rolling contract from all the major mobile companies.

Mark the Spark. ......my '3' mifi has been around the world and as far as Europe is concerned it picked up a connection in Gibraltar and in the Naval Dockyard in Toulon. ......and that was it.