Checking Torque Setting On Wheel Studs On Bailey Unicorn Seville

Glutenfree2008

Hello everyone, I'm new to caravanning and so apologies if this is a stupid question (I took receipt of a Bailey Unicorn S II in Dec 2013 and am eagerly awaiting my first outing in March). My question is: what size of drive on a torque wrench should I buy that would allow me to use the Bailey wheel stud adapter (1/4", 1/2", 3/8" or 1/2")? I could take the adaptor into a shop and try it but I can get better torque wrench deals online.

thanks for your time,

Glutenfree2008

:welcome: Maybe I have not understood. You have the Bailey adapter.

Why not measure the square on it. It is likely to be 3/8" or 1/2", but just measure it.

Or have I misunderstood?

Graham

Unless otherwise stated all posts are my personal opinion 

A 1/2" torque wrench, you will also need an extension (3" or 5" ) and a 19mm socket. Torque setting is 130nm.

Make sure any wrench has a calibration cert. Cheap wrenches not worth the trouble.

dougie

:welcome: Maybe I have not understood. You have the Bailey adapter.

Why not measure the square on it. It is likely to be 3/8" or 1/2", but just measure it.

Or have I misunderstood?

Bailey use a different bolt fitted with a collar and use an adapter similar to a splined locknut adapter. A 19mm socket fits on the hex

Edited by dougie

Gem Caravans (Fife) Ltd.

ALL MAKES SERVICING AND REPAIRS

BAILEY TRANSIENT WARRANTY, LUNAR AND COACHMAN WARRANTY

www. gemcaravancare.co.uk 07803 922945

WORKSHOP NOW OPEN

Tks for the explanation Dougie.

Graham

Unless otherwise stated all posts are my personal opinion 

What is it about caravans that people suddenly find the need to get a torque wrench . . aren't car wheels equally likely to come adrift, but they have never been bothered about those?

Roughing it . . but in comfort . .