Hello

Meeks10

Hi from deepest darkest fens!

We have been caravanning for 10 years or so, also have young children who love the van. Mainly do rallies and an active member of the Bailey Owners Caravan club.

Planning our first trip abroad this year with the van and getting excited!

Hi and :welcome:

Getting abroad will open up a whole new world, where are you off to?

H.

Finding things funny since 1968 :blink:

:welcome:

Graham

Unless otherwise stated all posts are my personal opinion 

Hello & welcome to the forum

Paul B

. .......Mondeo Estate & Elddis Avanté 505 (Tobago)

:welcome: You will wonder why you haven't been abroad before, driving is so much easier. Enjoy :D

Bailey Pageant Series 6 Champagne 2007    Tow Car Toyota Rav4

Hi Meeks, I'm a newbie too so just wanted to say hi. Also, we've done years of travelling to France (previously MH, this year will be a first in a caravan) but just wanted to say. ...don't worry! Once you've done it the once, you'll love it! The roads are so much better, so much so that the only 2 dreaded parts of our journeys are, getting to and from Dover or the Chunnel! Compared to UK motorways, driving abroad is an absolute joy. Also, do keep an open mind about stopping at aires. Every trip we've done, we stop 2 or 3 nights in aires, both heading out and heading home. We now have a list of faves (indeed some aires are far nicer than some sites we've stayed on), but please don't be anxious about security or 'staying in a motorway car park'. We like to drive till we're tired, as we want to get to the sun a. s. a. p, so aires are a fabulous way to just stop when we feel like it. They're free, surprisingly quiet (in most cases) and there are so many tourers doing the same that by 10pm every night, you have an Indian encampment set up with fellow travellers, with a lovely whiff of cooking sausages. Also the gendarmes regularly drive through the aires 3 or 4 times a night to check we're all ok. My only caveat to this is, avoid stay