Cleaning Caravan - Any Helpful Hints?

JulieT

H folks, hope your all well and safe after the terrible flooding.

I'm a novice caravan owner and went to check up on my caravan in its outdoors storage facility today. I was surprised with the inside. It was dry enough but mold had appeared on patches of the carpet and was very faintly noticeable on the lower cupboard doors. I went to the local caravan shop who advised me to purchase a salt tray which I've now left in the caravan. Is there anything else I should do to prevent this getting worse before I use if for the first time this year towards the end of March?

I plan to take it out of storage for a weekend at the end of March to prepare it for use. I saw at the caravan shop a multitude of outside van cleaning products, waxes and brushes. What are your recommendations on the best way to get the outside clean? A mop and a bucket of flash?

I haven't used the toilet since I purchased the van. It was clean and came with 2 bottles of cleaning fluid. However it is very mouldy when I lift the lid. I've read that you shouldn't use these types of products. Any hints on how best to get it clean and ready for use?

Finally, should I clean out the water pipes to the kitchen tap? We tend to drink the water straight from the tap. Should I sterilise the water pipes?

Apologies if these are too many questions for the one post but once I got started. ...

Thanks in advance,

Julie

Hi Julie, sure there will be lots of advice on cleaning the outside, I'm having ours done by tourershine as the outside needs renovating but I've heard on the forum that Fenwicks do a good caravan cleaner, just be careful with whatever you decide to use to "scrub" the outside as the paint layer can be quite thin and fragile.