Is My Car Ok?

Guest bonscottinparis

Guest bonscottinparis

Had my caravan written off last week.

I have an 05 reg Mondeo Tdci, LX, 130. I have just put a deposit down on an Abbey Freestyle 520L year 2003. From memory, the max laden weight is around 1340kg. I am hoping not to put too much in it to get to the max laden weight.

My other caravan only weighed 1000kg fully laden. Will the above be a safe match? The dealer said it came out at about 90% match.

I have been towing for two years.

Any thoughts appreciated.

Thanks. :D:rolleyes:

Had my caravan written off last week.

I have an 05 reg Mondeo Tdci, LX, 130. I have just put a deposit down on an Abbey Freestyle 520L year 2003. From memory, the max laden weight is around 1340kg. I am hoping not to put too much in it to get to the max laden weight.

My other caravan only weighed 1000kg fully laden. Will the above be a safe match? The dealer said it came out at about 90% match.

I have been towing for two years.

Any thoughts appreciated.

Thanks. :D:rolleyes:

Forgot to say, I think the unladen weight is around 1150kg. The max towing limit for my car is 1800kg but obviously I wouldn't tow anything like that. :rolleyes:

I'm so glad you asked this question as I have just sorted through all my caravanning mags, brochures etc and thrown all the out of date ones away!

We tow 1202kg unladen, max 1422kg (don't think we carry that much!), plus 3 bikes on the roof quite comfortably.

I think you will be fine, we are pleased with ours. Be careful when reversing with the 'van on the back, the clutch isn't very tolerant.

Guest bonscottinparis

I'm so glad you asked this question as I have just sorted through all my caravanning mags, brochures etc and thrown all the out of date ones away!

We tow 1202kg unladen, max 1422kg (don't think we carry that much!), plus 3 bikes on the roof quite comfortably.