Strong Winds

coolrunner

As i am new to owning a caravan ( i have a 17 ft 1995 bailey limosin ) only bought it in september,the one thing that panics me is when we have strong winds (it was strong in bristol on saturday ) i look out the house window and see the van swaying about and im panicing that its going to blow over,.do any of you take any precautions when parked off site and if their is going to be strong winds when on a site ? thanks

I have never heard of a stationary van being blown over or have others heard differently?

Graham

Unless otherwise stated all posts are my personal opinion 

I have never heard of a stationary van being blown over or have others heard differently?

Yep there were 2 or 3 on the site at Flamborough a few years ago, a right mess they were too.

Ap

Living north of Aberdeen we have experienced 80+ knot winds(88mph) recently and with the steadies down and lightly tightened up, it has never moved.

Wouldn't ever dispute its happened and caravans have actually been blown over, but surely its a rare occurrence with all four corner steadies down. .

Edited by scotsstag

Defender 90  cruising along with a Coachman Laser 640/4.  :)

Strong winds and stationary caravans bring bad memories for me, i use too store caravans (10) at the back of my house for friends and about 7 years ago in FEB GALES we had a lovely twin axle BESSACARR Rocking from side to side with the Gusts coming across open fields .

So i parked a TRACTOR along side it which helped BUT has i got out of the TRACTOR a big six asbestos roofing sheet ripped off a Barn missed me head by inches and pierced the side of the above Caravan AND i mean went straight through !!!!!!!!!!!!!

What a nightmare, needless to say i DONT STORE ANYMORE.

Ste

. ....One life, Don't waste it fixing LandRovers .

Ford F350 SUPERDUTY Towing 640 Hobby @ 1%