Made The Change From Tents To A Caravan, Complete Novices

Madmicky

Hi to everyone,

The wife and I have several family camping holidays a year and we were the last to get a caravan after many happy years in a very spacious tent with all the home comforts.

We have now just purchased a 2000 SWIFT SIGNATURE 17/4 which apparently is the same as a CHALLENGER 530SE, it came with absolutely everything, right down to the knives and forks. It had a service 18 months ago and I have checked everything and it all works fine and we cant wait to get going for our first trip, maybe even as soon as March.

I used my brothers car to tow it home as I'm still in the process of trying to source the special replacement rear difusser for ours before I have a detachable bar fitted.

Although all the family all have vans now we are complete novices to caravaning so I have so many questions but I will post them individually.

So from the wife and me a big hello.

Hello and welcome to caravans & caravantalk :)

Paul B

. .......Mondeo Estate & Elddis Avanté 505 (Tobago)

• 3 months later...

Hi & welcome,

We have just become caravanner's as well, we camped with a 6 berth frame tent in the 1980's. I posted a problem on this forum, it was solved the same day by the very helpful & experienced members on this forum.

From my limited knowledge I would suggest that caravans require servicing every 12 months, I have read that flexible gas pipes require replacing every 12 months, plus there are grease nipples that need attention plus brakes of course & water filters, ours last's one season.

We bought our caravan in April from a dealer who gave it a full service before we took delivery, they replaced the water filter, gas regulator & flexi pipe, serviced the gas fire etc & suggested we were safe for 12 months when it would need it's next service which is the start of our season, so ideal.