Tow Bar Advice

Wmick04

I'm new to the caravan game and I'm going to get my towbar fitted on my vauxhall zafira am I right in thinking a detachable tow ball will be best with it having parking sensors? And also do the tow balls set the parking sensors off constantly when car is in reverse? Lastly Iv been quoted £374 inc vat for the detachable towbar fitting with twin electrics by towbar express is this reasonable? Thanks

What are you towing? Ive got a 2004 2. 0dti zafira and it has a woefully low towing capacity (about 900kg)

Nothing as yet Iv not bought a van yet it's a 2010 19cdti

If you havnt as yet, do a few searches to see what you can pull, it wont be much i think. There are many people on here that can give you advice. Try a search in the box under "zafira" i think there are numerous posts

http://www. caravantalk. co. uk/community/topic/18525-towing-advice-zafira-19-diesel-cdti-150-bhp/

He didn't ask if he should get a Zafira, he asked about detachable towbars and reversing sensors.

Normally towballs don't affect sensors and plugging in the caravan turns them off. However, rather than rely on us why not have a word with your nearest authorized Witter fitter?

Isuzu D Max pulling Bailey Unicorn 2 Valencia

Bailey Autograph 740 MH: Isuzu for sale LOL

If there is a sensor directly behind the tow bar it will effect the system. However most systems have an even number of sensors meaning that the norm is for there not to be one direct centre of the bumper were the tow bar will be.

He didn't ask if he should get a Zafira, he asked about detachable towbars and reversing sensors.

Isn't the whole idea of forums to offer friendly advice? - I have not heard anybody say anything unfriendly yet so it must be free, good founded personal experience. Valuable in my opinion.

An eye for an eye only ends up making the whole world blind.

Mahatma Gandhi