Different Battery Types Info

caravantechnology

Morning All,

My names Dave and i am a salesman and technical engineer for an online company that has supplied portable power products in the UK and worldwide for the past decade . Inverters, battery charger, batteries, solar panels and much more.

Joined a while back but have not been very active, Have joined Caravan Talk to help the leisure market with my experience and advice as well as meeting all you fine people. ......

Batteries are a huge part of any portable vehicle and choosing the correct type could save you hundreds of pounds

The most common battery for Marine, RV and solar applications is the lead-acid battery, but there are many kinds. First let's look at what makes them similar: Lead acid batteries use an electrolyte that consists of sulphuric acid, and plates made up of lead to chemically store electrons. These batteries consist of cells tied together to provide an adequate amount of electrical energy storage for the need. The lead acid battery stores a relatively large amount of power, for a relatively long time, in a relatively small space. This portable power makes these batteries ideal for these applications.

So what makes these batteries different?

Even though inside all AGM, GEL and flooded batteries contain lead acid, the internal construction of the battery divides them into their respective categories.