Advice

ryesway

hi im new to caravaning and im going to look at a van in a weeks time its a private sale ive rang the owner who sounds a genuine person theres every thing with this van including a CRiS reg what i want to know will this CRiS reg tell me if theres finance or stolen and recovered etc etc or do i have to do my own checks and CRiS reg myself, the van in question is a 2011 year any help would be good thanks rye

The CRiS reg will tell you if he's the owner but it won't tell you if it's been paid for.

You will need to ask to see the receipts for payment. Ive got mine from 2006 so he should have his. ..Peter

Peter and Sandy pulling a 2016 Coachman VIP 565 with

2016 Ford Kuga 2. 0. 180 ps. Titanium Nav.

Retired and loving it.

Provided that the CRiS document is registered to the seller then yes you can get a check for the van being reported as stolen, been previously written off by an insurance company, and for outstanding finance (provided the finance was arranged via a CRiS approved lender such as Black Horse etc.)

The check costs £14. 95 - more details here http://www. CRiS. co. uk

Carry out the same checks as you would when purchasing a new car, and read up as much of the bad stuff you can about the van your looking to purchase to check that a. it has had it and been repaired b. it hasn't got it, or c. that it has it and it hasn't been repaired yet. Some problems can be a very easy DIY fix, but also make an excellent bargaining point for reducing the price.

Edited by BadBoy

Traffic lights in London are for guidance only

hi im new to caravaning and im going to look at a van in a weeks time its a private sale ive rang the owner who sounds a genuine person theres every thing with this van including a CRiS reg what i want to know will this CRiS reg tell me if theres finance or stolen and recovered etc etc or do i have to do my own checks and CRiS reg myself, the van in question is a 2011 year any help would be good thanks rye