Nose Weight

Laney16

We have recently purchased a 2009 Abbey Spectrum 540 twin axle. The MIRO is 1545kg and the MTPLM is 1830kg. I have a new Milenco nose weight gauge and when I checked it before a Christmas trip, it went off the scale !!. In the front I have two Calor Lite gas bottle's, one if which was empty, two Alko wheel locks, Alko side lift Jack and a 25m mains cable. I removed the wheel locks. mains cable, and jack but is was still reading over 100kg. There is nothing in the front of the van inside apart from a small plastic box of bits and pieces under the front side seat but this only weighs about 2kg if that. The Aqua Rolls and wastemaster are in the middle of the van. This was also with the centre chest of drawers in place as we had removed it to try some wrap around seating !

I tow with a Mitsubishi Grandis and the ball limit is 85kg. I have been towing for some 8 years, previously with a Bailey Pageant and manage to keep that noseweight to the correct level. Is there something I need to know about twin axle vans ? It does have a powrtouch motormover mounted ahead of the front axle and this weighs around 30kg but can't imagine this affecting the noseweight that much.

Any suggestions?

You need to have the hitch at the same height as what it will be when hitched to the tow car when measuring. Try that and see if it makes any difference.

Need to move this post as well as its not a swift.

Hi Brocher12.

I measured it on a level driveway - just lowered the jockey wheel until it lifted. Don't see how I can measure it at the same height as when hitched, as the rear of the car drops.

Also, my van is made by Swift - Abbey no longer exists and in fact, the van is same as a Swift Conqueror 630 and Sterling Elite Searcher.

Thanks