Caravan Tripping House Electrics

gingerbreadman

Hello fellow members, I'm experiencing problems with the connection between the house and the caravan. Every time that I attach the main ehu cable to the external socket ( it's the same used by caravan sites and this was fitted by qualified electrician ) the house electrics trip and will not reset until I unhook the caravan. I've been using this external socket for about 8 months with no problems and the caravan always charges up nicely, yet now I have this problem. I'm thinking about possible moisture issues at either end of the cables or that the caravan charger may have developed a fault. One sounds like an easy fix whilst the other doesn't. Not knowing about electrics, I thought I'd ask here if anyone could give me any idea's I could try before calling out an electrician. Probably something stupid, the caravan is in for it's service on the 12th of January and if I need to could possibly let them know in advance of any issues. Thanks in advance to everyone who helps with my problem, best regards, Gingerbreadman ( Paul ) :mellow:

PAUL, 2005 Mitsubishi Shogun Warrior 2. 5TD, Towing A 2005 Bailey Pageant Provence .

Has it ever tripped when on site? Test the EHU lead for continuity/shorts by using a multimeter. if thats O. K. it may be time to bring in an electrician as I don't think you should go any further without expert knowledge. ....Peter

Peter and Sandy pulling a 2016 Coachman VIP 565 with

2016 Ford Kuga 2. 0. 180 ps. Titanium Nav.

Retired and loving it.

Hi

had the same problem, house RCD sensitive to moisture, changed hook up lead, easy test, hey presto sorted so now waterproofed the connection.

Ali

If the caravan is being serviced by an Approved Workshop on the 12 Jan all of your electrical system will be checked including your hook up lead. In the meantime (unless you know what you are doing or want to pay someone who does) remove the plug & isolate the socket.