I'm new to all this and would like some advice.

I am converting an ex-builders van into something I can travel in. the first piece of advice is charging my liesure battery. Is it possible to charge it from the van's electrical system (obviously this is only possible when I'm driving) If so how i. e. how do I wire it up? what are the dangers to watch out for? Also how much charge can I expect ot get from a solar panel on the roof of the van?

thanks - van_man

I am converting an ex-builders van into something I can travel in. the first piece of advice is charging my liesure battery. Is it possible to charge it from the van's electrical system (obviously this is only possible when I'm driving) If so how i. e. how do I wire it up? what are the dangers to watch out for? Also how much charge can I expect ot get from a solar panel on the roof of the van?

thanks - van_man

A solar panel charge will depend on the power of the panel basically. a 100w panel and a solare charge controller should output a constant 8amp charge in good summer sunlight.

To charge the leisure battery properly as you travel the ideal way would be to fit a dc-dc charge controller like the the ctek one. --> https://www. roadpro. co. uk/retail/12v24v-electrical-products/battery-management/ctek-dc---dc-chargers/ctek-d250s-dual-dc-dc-charger-12v-1321. htm

Obviously there are other things you can do, such as fuel cells etc, but this is a couple of ideas.

Edited by dreadly

An eye for an eye only ends up making the whole world blind.

Mahatma Gandhi

On caravans we have 12V chargers that work off EHU (elec hook-up) by plugging into 240V.

If you plan to do this then get a caravan type charger. We also charge the leisure battery from the car battery ONLY when the towcar is being driven. Done through a split charge relay. This is often seen as the grey sockrt on the back of towcars.

And Welcome!

Graham

Unless otherwise stated all posts are my personal opinion