Senator S6 (2008) In-Board Water Pump Query

TenStar

Hi Folks

Just picked up our 'new to us' S6 Indiana - absolutely delighted :D

Query on the Whale on-board water pump. Seems to pump the water through and when its going the flow rate is great but it seems to take a long time to flush the air from the system and fill the hot tank. Whilst its doing this the hot especially 'hisses and spits' a lot. Seems that sometimes when you turn the tap off the pump pressurises the system and cuts out sometimes it seems to want to carry on running . ... we've been switching the pump off when it does this.

Also noticed that when the pump is running there always seems to be some air flowing through the clear pipework by the pump.

Cant see any leaks in the system, Hot water tank drain is CLOSED.

I'm assuming that the pressure switch is in the pump and not user adjustable.

I've no experience of this system, previous vans had submersible pump which cut out a few seconds after the tap was closed.

What should I expect from the Whale on-board pump, do they take longer to cut out, once its primed itself should there be any air flowing through the pipework with the water?

Am I missing anything obvious - connect pickup hose, set values to run of Aquaroll, open cold tap, switch pump on, wait for it prime, switch hot tap on wait for that to prime, turn tap off. An I missing soemthing?

All comment/opinion/suggestion welcome.

Unicorn IV Cartagena 2019my | Mercedes-Benz GLE350d (W166)

Senator Series 6 Indiana Now sold