Sign in to follow this  
Dan1

Smallest, Sensible Vehicle With Gvw Of More Than 3500Kgs.

I like the bailey retreats. Great designs.

I know about the licence requirement, etc.

But what is the smallest vehicle with a gvw of over 3500kgs, required to tow it? Ideally something that could be used as a daily driver or not look too out of place at the supermarket.

Even better would be a day van type vehicle?

Sensible price ranging 10k or less.

I have little experience in commercial vehicles so I am hoping on drawing on the experience or advice of others on here.

Thanks!

One of the larger transits or sprinter vans.

Hi,I know of someone who bought an ex-council 17 seat Transit and took out all the extra seats,I'm sure it's over 3500kg gross as he has to take it to a specific garage each year for MOT test.

If I remember right it cost him about £7k 5 years old with only 25k miles on the clock.

I'm sure he bought at an auction advertised in Exchange and Mart.

Duncan

Transit drop side ;)

Merc sprinters come in 3, 3. 5 and 5tonne. Not sure if that's carrying capacity or GVW though.

http://www. caravantimes. co. uk/news/makes/bailey/retreat/bailey-retreat-pictures-weights-and-details-revealed-$21381026. htm

Meanwhile the overall MTPLM weight of 2,163kg is well above what you would normally expect to safely tow with a normal family car.

But as Bailey has explained, the weight is more or less irrelevant, as this twin-axle model is meant to be sited professionally and only moved every year or so.

Hi,I know of someone who bought an ex-council 17 seat Transit and took out all the extra seats,I'm sure it's over 3500kg gross as he has to take it to a specific garage each year for MOT test.

If I remember right it cost him about £7k 5 years old with only 25k miles on the clock.

I'm sure he bought at an auction advertised in Exchange and Mart.

Duncan

I think anything over 8 seats needs a specific MOT . It was when I had one .