Sign in to follow this  
danb

Swift Challenger Truma Ultraheat

Hi all, i'm a newbie to caravanning and would like to use all of your experiences to rectify a few problems in our recently purchased 'van.

So here is the first issue. ....

It has a Truma Ultraheat gas/electric heating system. But the only time it comes on is when its on full and then doesn't turn off when up to temp. So when I put the thermostat to 9, I can hear the click coming from the system, then it comes on. So our first night got a little hot!!! Our next night I put it on 500kw and left it ticking over with the fan on 1, which woked. But I know it should be on 2000kw when on mains?, which we were. I have not yet tried it on gas, as I want to get it serviced before hand, when my finances allow, for safety reasons obviously. I have been advised it could be either one of the thermostats on the fire itself, which tell the fire when to turn on or off. He said they are only £7 ish each and isnt a bad job to do. How accurate could this be??

Another question is, not related to the above issue, on the top of the fire I have the 1-10 for the Gas and the the speed settings for the fan speed and then underneath that a sliding switch. This I dont fully understand. Im guessing the 'A' is for Auto? If so, is that to regulate the fan speed in regards to the current temp, ie it goes off when the temp is reached?? As for the other one to the left, it doesnt seem to be any different to having it on 'A'?

Thanks in advance.

Danny

You are correct in that the A is for auto operation of the fan,the other setting is for manual fan operation,we use that setting in the summer sometimes just to circulate air round the van (heater off).

It seems amazing to me that the same problems that first surfaced in the very early 2000's are still happening today! but my overview below should clear up some of your questions

. ......................................