Advice And Tips For My 1979 Viking Fibreline

danstamp

Hello Im new to caravans I have wanted one for ages but the cost of a caravan has been beyond my reach with a young family, we now finally have a 1979 fibreline and we are over the moon with it and have been busy tidying it up as it was covered in decals and was pretty filthy I have a few questions if anybody would be so kind as to help

1. I appear to have some damp/soft wood around one of the windows I have replaced the rubber as this was all cracked and broken, is it a big job that could potentially damage the van should I try and cut this out.

2. there is a small hole in the floor where the door has not been shutting properly again as above should I just cut this out there is a hollow between the the whole and then the fiberglass underneath I take it these are not structural or safety issues as the rest of the van is in tip top condition, remarkable when its age is taken into account.

3. I need some spares the water heater knob is missing its a main nymph any ideas? and also a door hinge

4. Why do these vans seem so collectible I was almost gifted mine and after looking they seem to go for quite a lot I have no intention of getting rid of it but im suprised at the value.

5. I have the original occupiers handbook should anybody want a copy

I hope I haven't run on to much and thanks in advance.

post-62085-0-74388300-1371497850_thumb.jpg

post-62085-0-22712700-1371497852_thumb.jpg

post-62085-0-56009000-1371497853_thumb.jpg

post-62085-0-27214500-1371497854_thumb.jpg

Looks a cracking little van, and well worth keeping in good nick.