Help Please Intermitent Gas Problem!

Hi all,

I'm new to caravanning and we have just bought a Sterling Europe 460 from a dealer. We have previously been using a Motorhome for the last four years.

We love the van, and the first time out in it, and we turned the gas on (brand new gas cylinder) it worked fine. ....for a few minutes, and then the flow of gas stopped. It came on again after half an hour, allowed us to cook some things in the oven, then stopped again.

It would occasionally come on again, but not for long.

We called the dealer, who sent someone out to fix it, and it worked.

Last weekend we went away, and the same happened - trying to bbq roast potatoes is very difficult!

The dealer has again been out, and fitted a new regulator yesterday, and the gas worked! Until today and its now stopped.

I very much doubt the dealer will be able to get someone out before next Thursday,when we start a trip to Ireland for two weeks.

This problem is seriously going to affect the enjoyment of our holiday, and I just wondered if anyone had any practical suggestions as to what we might try to remedy this problem.

All help and suggestions would be hugely appreciated!

Many thanks.

I presume he found the old problem of regulator failure due to oil contamination, which is looking very likely that, it has also gone through into pipework. This will probably need appliances disconnecting and pipe work clearing.

Swift Archway Ruby.   Santa Fe Auto

If you have a different gas bottle, I would suggest trying that.

2019 Bailey Platinum (640) Phoenix from Chipping Sodbury caravans, towed by our  2017 my Discovery Sport!

Which appliances are you actually using, internal or external gas point.

Some appliances are fitted with gas cut outs if the pilot light goes out,

if one is faulty or getting blown out it will cut the supply to the appliance