Sign in to follow this  
Scotash

Favorite Layout?

Hi,

I'm fairly new to the caravanning scene and just wanted to get other peoples views on layouts?

The layout that I prefer is standard lounge/dinette turning into a double bed, kitchen and bathroom in the middle (this helps not to disturb kiddies when they're asleep) with second dinette at end with either 2 singles or 3 including pull down bunk.

It would be good to here what everyone else likes/don't like?

I prefer a layout simmilar to yours Scotash.

Makes sense having a middle bathroom when there are more than two people.

I have the Challenger 580 mid-bathroom layout with a fixed double bed on the middle of the back wall.

It seems to work well when there are four of us in the van and reduces the disturbance when the bathrom is used during the night.

Hi Scotash and welcome aboard. Layout is always dependent on your needs but from our perspective we're with you. Whilst the double dinette layout used to be really popular it seems to have fallen out of favour now with the triple/double bunk stack and single dinette at one end being more in favour. I'm not sure but I think current only Lunar and Adria do the double dinette.

Our double dinette suits us as the rear dinette is the larger of the two and we just spin the seat cushions over, put the kids sleeping bags out and that it for the evening. In the morning it's as quick to put things away and then you've got effectively two rooms to use. One adult and one kids (although it doesn't always work like that). Equally no concerns about growing out of the van as it will suit them well into their teens if necessary. ....and if they do want to bring the odd friend we've got up and over bunks each side in the rear! and finally if we ever do get away then we can turn the rear into just a massive double bedroom.

So for us we're with you but everyone has their own likes and dislikes.