How To Choose A Caravan And Layout

When looking for a replacement for our caravan we must have 'shortlisted' about 14 possible alternatives from the makes available from dealers within a 40 mile radius. I used to work as a highway design engineer and also spent time checking the designs of others. The point being that I never believed that there was one solution. I used to tell those that I trained that when they had solved a design problem always look at alternatives - even some which were counter intuitive and you will often come up with a superb solution that you would not have initially have dreamed of.

We initially considered a fixed bed. This despite a previous feeling that the use of space was a luxury in a caravan at around 5. 5m internal length. All the ones we looked at had drawbacks for us that we did not want. Some compromised on washroom layout, some had the corner of a bed too close to my oven and work area, some had poor access. We decided that we could just as easily utilise two custom single mattresses with our end diner. What ever we chose had to have full length front seats.

We then looked at fixed twins. Many had beds that were needlessly too narrow. We liked the Lunar version as the beds were a better width but there was insufficient space we felt between the door and the front window with regard to a porch awning. Even if an awning could be fitted in this narrow gap the positioning of steps would have compromised usage of the awning.