Living In A Caravan

downward_spiral

I'm a 23 year old graduate who's feeling a bit disillusioned with city life and the general situation of the housing market. Basically, even if I managed to squeeze my way into the saturated industry of my study, I'd be lucky if I was earning half the amount needed to be entitled to any type of mortgage.

Because of this I have been thinking about living in a caravan. Sounds bizarre perhaps, but the way I see it, I would be better off owning something material until I get myself sorted out, rather than throwing my earnings down the pan by renting property. I personally don't need much living space, so it actually seems like a good idea.

I was wondering if anyone knows how feasible this would be? I don't really know where to start enquiring about this, and I don't even know if siteowners allow the use of vans for residential purposes. Has anyone here ever heard of such a thing?

What kind of site fees (including gas, electricity, and whatever else) would I be looking at? How do the local council deal with people who don't live in a bricks-and-mortar property? What about insurance and such things?

How much would I be looking at for a new or second hand static?

If anyone has any advice they can give, I would be really grateful!