Which Club Did You Join In Your First Year?

I am a complete newbie and confused with the amount of different membership schemes about I wondered which clubs you joined in your first year and what you got out of it?

Also did you change or stop your memberships in your second and subsequent years? I will be buying an old (1992) caravan so insurance savings are not going to be high enough to justify some of the membership costs.

Thanks

Pat

"Mavis" 1992 Elddis Force 2 towed by 2011 Vauxhall Meriva 1. 7 CDTi - Just me and my dog

“Dogs come into our lives to teach us about love. They depart to teach us about loss. A new dog never replaces an old dog; it merely expands the heart. If you have loved many dogs, your heart is very big." Erica Jong

I joined the CC 30 years ago when I started caravanning and been a member ever since. We have found their service and sites to be very good and would never think of going to the other lot after seeing some ( not all ) sites. WE ahve used Red pennant cover for overseas trips but thankfully never needed to call them & use the CC caravan insurance after bad experiences with some other so called caravan policies.

Coachman Pastiche tugged by Mazda CX-7, Wine supplied by Sainsburys & sunday Times wine Club.

I first joined the Caravan Club but after 28 years changed to The Camping and Caravan Club.

I wanted to use a Tent In Wales and The Caravan Club don't cater for tents.

I always got more value than I paid because we used to go to Rallies with the CC at very cheap prices per weekend.

We now go to Meets with the C&CC which are also very reasonable for weekend pricing.

The use of CL's and CS's more than offsets the membership costs. I would not use any commercial sites because of the high costs that some now charge.

The membership of the club also gives me insurance that I need. They may not the be cheapest but are OK at the moment.

My breakdown cover is also via the Club.

Ford C-Max and Coachman Festival 380/2 SE 2006