Lunar Delta 520-2 Electrical Problem

BWT

Hello Folks

Please bear with me as this is my first post here and unfortunatley it is to ask for help rather than offer any!

I am new to caravaning and have just purchased a 2003 Lunar Delta 520 i have a fault i think with the electrics.

I will try to explain as best i can

1) With the van detached from the car and Mains switced to van all the 12v system appears to work OK voltage at the battery 12. 7volts

2) Connected to mains all the 230v work fine and 12V OK except the battery does not appear to be charging the meter in the van increases however the actual voltage at the battery is 12. 7 volts, now the intresting bit battery terminals disconnected (ie no battery) 0volts at the battery terminals. At the charger with the battery connected or disconnected 13. 79 volts Charger PMS4.

3) I have checked all the fuse i can see and they are OK

4) There would also seem to be problem when connected to the car no electrics appear to work in the van even switched to car if i remove the fuse at the incoming cable for the fridge all other 12v seem to work ok when the engine is started in this condtion i still get no increase in voltage at the caravan battery still 12. 7 volts.

I have the wiring diagram for the system but the colours in the diagram are dffrent to those in the van and the wiring in the van looks orginal no funny connectors etc orginal plugs in the PMS

I know that what i am saying makes no sense but it is afterall a caravan can someone please point me in some direction that will help me with these faults?

Thanks for any help in advance

Brian T

When was the car wired (date)?

If the battery is disconnected you get zero volts on battery posts?

12n and 12s sockets and plugs or 13 pin setup?

Edited by Lefthand Down

Ford C-Max and Coachman Festival 380/2 SE 2006    Motto  Carpe Diem