Freelander Two Automatic

JTQ

I was quizzed about my opinions of how the Freelander Two specifically with the auto-transmission would be as a towcar for a 1350 kg caravan.
I have no direct experience of this vehicle in auto guise so could not address that aspect other that more general pros and cons of torque convert based auto transmissions.
Are there users out there with direct experience who can comment please?

Well at 69% I suppose most tugs will do well - Fl2 auto is 1960 kg

I have one and it replaced my RRS and it's a better tug - yes really. It's my 2nd FL2 and previous one was manual. Auto coupled with cruise control is really very good. My outfit is very stable so when you add the 'only need to steer it' bit, it makes for a very comfortable towing experience. I load poles, awning, groundsheet, cadac etc all in the boot and towing level hardly alters.

Mpg is down on my manual overall by about 3 mpg but I have done a lot more towing with this one so there's not a lot in it.

Edited by SamD

I have a 2009 GS Auto and have to say it's a first class tow car and one of the best tow cars I have ever owned and I tow a 2 berth weighing in at 1,550 Kg.

Had several minor problems fixed under warranty and don't think that they have the LR customary rough tough image anymore. Only had dealings with 2 main LR dealerships and they have been horrendous ! I now know why many LR devotees call them 'stealers'.

Not sure I'd have another one but can't fault it's towing capabilities.

Bill

My father has a 2009 HSE auto. I have towed our 1500kg caravan with it and was most impressed. It was very lively and handled the caravan like a dream - so much so that I'm considering swapping our Discovery 3 for one. The only downside as has previously been mentioned is the economy. He usually gets mid-30's solo, but 22-ish towing (as I did).

It's a pity that the Stealers aren't as good as the FL2.