How Do I Know If...

thewelshman

my car is sending power to the charger/fridge when connected? My thetford fridge has no switch to confirm!

I am no expert . .. but I think

With the master switch off and the fridge set to the "Battery" symbol the inside light in the fridge is off. ..... plug in the car and the light comes on (hense the fridge is working)

(That's on my Bailey pegasus)

If that's the case then Booo, its not!

Ah well thanks!

Does the light in the fridge work on mains hookup?

I am no expert . .. but I think

With the master switch off and the fridge set to the "Battery" symbol the inside light in the fridge is off. ..... plug in the car and the light comes on (hense the fridge is working)

(That's on my Bailey pegasus)

Nearly right. With the setup as above the car engine needs to be running to operate the fridge. More accurately, the car engine needs to be running and the alternator outputting power. And also more accurately, shouldn't it be Booo Hooo?

And stop playing around with your fridges and car engines at midnight. Some of us need our beauty sleep.

Edited by bartow

my car is sending power to the charger/fridge when connected? My thetford fridge has no switch to confirm!

well I have the same fridge & the same problem as there is no indicator to say that 12v is getting to the fridge .

how ever you can check the charging current to the battery by using a volt meter with the car engine running at fast tick over you should get aprox 14v switch off the engine & the reading will drop

Thanks everyone - yes the light works normally but not when hooked up to the car with the caravan mains switch turned off.

Hitch up car. Drive non stop to South of France.

If Wine is cold when you get there it's working, but you are tired and need to stay over for a few weeks to recover and get the bad back 'all that driving' sorted.

If wine is warm, phone home explain the problem and spend rest of winter 'still trying to get it fixed dear.'

Simple really.