Emergency Pitching In France

Jayne and Paul

Hi All

Newbie here just returned from our first trip abroad in our Lunar Quasar.

It all went very well, but we decided to do the final journey back to the port (St Malo) in one leg, from Mimizan about 1 hour south of Bordeaux.

Our Tom Tom calculated the journey time as 6. 5 hours, so I said we needed to be on the road by 9. 00am

Well, by the time we had packed up and did some last minute shopping it was nearer 12. 00 midday. ..... ! :rolleyes:

So, we didn't arrive at St Malo until 8. 30pm (after a lunch stop etc) by which time all the local camp site offices were closed and the barriers down.

I did try to sneak our outfit into one of those camping car sites that proliferate in France (and all free of charge - why is that??) but was told in no uncertain terms by one of the motor homers pitched their that caravans were "strictement interdite!" Very unfair in my humble opinion, but there you go!

So what to do?

My good lady thought she had read or heard somewhere you could pitch up on Auchan Supermarket Car Parks, much like you can in the USA on Walmart sites, but she wasn't sure.

There are the autoroute "Aires" of course, but again my lady thought she had read or heard somewhere that it was illegal to pitch a caravan, and you would probably get mugged anyway.

In the end, we discovered there was a small parking area right by the port entrance where some camper vans were already parked up.

I asked one of the occupants whether caravans were "interdite" but he didn't know.

So we took a chance and pitched up in a double length parking bay, unhitched the car and parked it along side so we didn't cause any obstructions.

There was a no waiting sign, with a plate below in French which we couldn't figure out, but I read it to mean that only towing or towed vehicles should be parked in that area, which made sense given the double length spaces.

Anyway, we decided to go for it, and as it turned out, nobody bothered us.