Just Got A Dart 556-6

therealboss

Just bought a Dart 556-6 and will be picking it up next Sat if all goes well, but have a few questions that I hope some of you might be able to shine some light on for me.

This is our first caravan and I have download the new owner check list and done a fair bit of research on the web but thought I would ask here for some advice.

Are there any issues with this caravan and if so what should I keep an eye out over the next few months. The dealer I bought it off has given me 12 month guarantee but as with most guarantees I guess its all a very gray area and as I'm new to caravanning I don't really know what to look out for apart from the obvious.

I have read on the web and in this forum that the front and rear panels can crack, I have inspected them very closely and can't see any issues there. I have also spent about 45mins in the van looking for signs of damp and can't see any, looked in all the cupboards and under the beds in the storage boxes and very close inspection of the ceiling for any marks but all looks fine. Its not just damp I am worried about, but also any other issues that might be inherent with this model of Avondale in general.

Is there anything else I should be aware of, like brakes, power, gas, or electrical? I just want to know all I can about this model, the good, bad and the ugly.

Has anyone here got a manual for this model in PDF format or is there one I can download off the web.

Any help or suggestions very welcome.

Thanks

Sold my 4 year old 556 last month - great caravan but had 2 lots of damp. One was in the back corner & the other in the roof over the oven. Lost some money on it by selling back to the dealer I bought it from - looking at over £1500 to repair both bits - but I was happy with the deal overall. . Dealer has now repaired the damp and put it up for sale - no mention of damp in the advert of course.