Advice Required.

Yehiknow

Hi guys.

I am completely new to caravanning but have decided it is the way forward for holidaying with a young family. Just come back from a holiday in france and it was a complete nightmare, flying etc. Parents had a caravan when I was younger and I loved it, so im taking the plunge and buying one of my own. However i know very little about what I should be looking for in a caravan. Been round a few dealers and my wife and I really liked the elddis as they seem quite stylish and modern. We both liked the 6 berth with the fixed bunks. We had set a budget of 9 to 10 k and were shown a few different models. One was a 2009 elddis avante 6 berth which was really nice but was 12k and just out of our price range. The dealer then showed us a 2009 elddis xplore which was 10k. There appeared to be very little difference in appearance apart from the pricier one had a microwave fitted, but I could not see any difference apart from that, and the only think the dealer pointed out was the the xplore was the entry level model. Long winded way of asking but, what actually is the difference between these models,ie are the pricier ones of better build quality or is there more features on them that the dealer didn't point out. We are paying cash and am looking to keep this for at least 5 years. Is it worth paying the extra for the pricier model. A fridge, cooker and beds is all I need in my spec but am concerned that the cheaper model is built with lesser materials and will start to fall apart after a few years of use.

Thanks in advance.

S

hi,