Caravan Movers

I am new to caravaning (< 12 months) and struggle to reverse my van onto my drive - it has a slight slope and there is also next doors garage wall I need to miss(!). It is also difficult to maneouvre the van manually due to it's weight and the slope (and having to rely on neighbours being home to help). I am thinking of buying either a motorised or manually operated mover.

There are a couple of Purpleline Hitchdrives on Ebay - they look pretty solid. Can anyone offer any advice? My caravan fully loaded is 1340kg.

Thanks

RPB

I think you will find that those for sale on ebay are for the reason that they are not very good, an ddo not do the job expected of them. The problem with motorised movers is they have to pull the whole weight of the van, as opposed to the fixed movers actually turning the vans wheels. From the reports Ihave read from ppl who have tried the hitchdrive type, I would not touch one, unless you happen to be on level, smooth ground, they do not work.

I am new to caravaning (< 12 months) and struggle to reverse my van onto my drive - it has a slight slope and there is also next doors garage wall I need to miss(!). It is also difficult to maneouvre the van manually due to it's weight and the slope (and having to rely on neighbours being home to help). I am thinking of buying either a motorised or manually operated mover.

There are a couple of Purpleline Hitchdrives on Ebay - they look pretty solid. Can anyone offer any advice? My caravan fully loaded is 1340kg.

Thanks

RPB

2272[/snapback]

I wasted £200 on the Purle line Hitch mover, its now dumped the the loft including all the packageing ( going cheap :P ) The Hitch drive will only work in perfect conditions ie DRY tarmac / concrete . NOT Recommended

Dave

Thanks

RPB

2272[/snapback]

Try this links for New and recondition electrical motor driven movers

Power wheel new & reconn http://www. powrwheel. com/

2nd hand/ reconn movers http://www. salvagecaravans. com/

New