Catching The Caravan Bug

bmd

Hi everybody,I am relatively new to caravaning. I have always fancied the idea of it,but all I ever did was talk about it. That was up till just before the big FOUR O. I thought, right, thats it, if I don't do it now,I never will. That started all the wind ups in work,about getting old and getting a caravan. Another workmate was getting a motorbike for his fortieth,and he was laughing about how boring I was. The reality is he is going through a mid life crisis.

The only problem was my car. I had not long bought a Ford Focus 1. 6 Zetec tdci,which is a brilliant car. But once I looked into buying a caravan properly, I then realised that I was limited to a certain size and weight of van,and I would lose too much money changing the car. Sounds daft and logical,when you are experienced, but when I saw what caravans I was being limited to,I thought there is no wayI am going to get anything suitable. You see we had a three year old (it's ok,we still have him,it's just that he is four now),and we had another on the way. Because we were going into it as novices, and not even knowing if my wife was going to like the caravan life style, we didn't want to spend too much. The dealers showed us two berths and fold up caravans that would suit the car,and we were almost tempted to go for a nice wee caravan,and we almost signed there and then. We decided to go for a coffee first. That is when we passed a much smaller dealership, that we didn't know was there, and saw our van. It was ideal,a wee ABI Marauder,small and compact,perfect for our car,well looked after,in our price range, and best of all, a five berth.