Satellite Tv

Not a new subject but after reading many posts on the subject I thought I'd share my experience as a total beginner of the maplin SCART sytem.

Tried the system for the first time at a site near Bordeaux in France - what a shock - it works!

All the pitches on the site were in amongst pine trees and the dish is only 39cm so I wasn't expecting much this far south (almost in Spain!) but the weather was lousy so with not much else to do I got it out to have a play with it anyway.

I've never set up a satellite system of any sort before so I had a fairly good read of the instruction book (Well the bits that seemed necessary :P !)

Set the dish up on the ground with the crescent shaped stand (It comes with pole and sucker mounts too) and plugged in the satellite finder that Maplins had sold me as an extra (£10 earphone type) had a guess at where south was from the compass rose on the campsite map and aimed just east of it. Plugged in the earphone and could hear a tone which immediately turned to a wail as I moved the dish - looked in through the van window and we had a picture! Must have found a gap through the tree tops!

Carefully steadied the dish and went inside to check it out - perfect picture quality and quite a few channels but they all seemed to be in German and no BBC or Sky news etc. Sat down and checked out the instructions and the on screen guide again and finally realised I must be on the wrong satellite - back outside, earphone in and slowly rotated further to the left - sure enough tone dropped away and then picked up again - BBC News on screen! I'd been picking up the Astra 19E satellite and was now on the Astra 28E one.