Private Or Dealer

Rizo

Evening,

Looking to buy my first van around the end of june so was just wondering where i should really buy one from.

We have approx 2k to spend.

Now 2k at a dealer will get me a van that this fully saefty checked etc, all things 100% working yet privatley for less than a grand i can get the same sorta van but often with an awning, aquarolls, waste etc but no safety checks.

Im a very competent car mechanic who is defo not shy of getting his hands dirty/greasy.

is there a basic rule of thumb when buying privatley?

Is a small ammount of damp a major problem?

TIA Guys and Girls :)

Jon

2001 Lunar Ariva GTS, Propane, 180amp Marine Battery and a 20w Solar Panel with Charge Controller. 1000W mains invertor

Towed by 1. 8 VVT Vectra Hatch

If it is your FIRST caravan -- go to a Dealer --- you at least have to have some sort of warranty

If you buy private -- tha van could fall apart and you would have NO redress. . and as an inexperienced 'vanner -- tough!!

go to a dealer. .

Maurice

Volvo S60 D5 (now sold 😥) new Vauxall soon
Happy to meet, Sorry to part, Happy to meet again
48 Year Member of The Caravan Club

Guest iancjc

Buy the van in the best condition that you can afford.

At £2k you're only likely to get a 3 month warrenty from a dealer anyway - I reckon you'd do as well to look at the person selling the van as the van itself - a genuine sale of a well loved van is likely to be a better deal than buying from a dealer.

either way do a damp test (private or dealer sale) and a HPI check (private sale).

Thanks you two.

VFM private is the way forward i think but then a dealer near me has loads in stock like a lunar hurricane for £2195 1995 iirc. Very good nick comes with an awning too/

2001 Lunar Ariva GTS, Propane, 180amp Marine Battery and a 20w Solar Panel with Charge Controller. 1000W mains invertor

No brainer to me - buy from a dealer as Muarice says you get some warranty - even if it is only 3 months.