Wi-fi Security

Hi

I’m a novice trying to get to grips with Wi-Fi security.

Maybe I’m paranoid but I've set up my home system so that log in requires a password, the M. A. C. address of the visiting laptop has to be allowed by my router and I have enabled WPA (I believe this encrypts communications between the laptop and router).

I’m quite happy to use unsecured sites like McDonalds to download e-mails and visit various websites.

But how dangerous is it to connect to supposedly secure sites (https) such as Banks or pay for items using a credit card? How do you manage your affairs?

Any/all Advice welcomed

Thanks

Scales

I would avoid using any public sites for banking or card payment stuff, do that at home or other trusted connections like a family members wi-fi.

Restrict your public stuff to email and general surfing.

Or am I just over cautious?

Cruzer, aka Colin

Growing old is unavoidable, growing up is optional. .. Hyundai Santa Fe & Bailey Pegeant Bretagne.

Its the very important I think in having a good security package on your computer. I use Norton Internet Security 2009 on all my machines as its the one I favour. It will prevent intrusions. With regard to internet banking one tip would be not to save any password/log in info on the laptop, set to key it in new everytime.

David

David - Milton Keynes

Bailey Alliance 66-2 Motorhome for holidays and a Kia Venga for home.

Caravan Travels

Hi

I’m a novice trying to get to grips with Wi-Fi security.

Maybe I’m paranoid but I've set up my home system so that log in requires a password, the M. A. C. address of the visiting laptop has to be allowed by my router and I have enabled WPA (I believe this encrypts communications between the laptop and router).

I’m quite happy to use unsecured sites like McDonalds to download e-mails and visit various websites.