Towcar For Charisma 570?

nad381

Hi

I am a new addition to the caravan world and already need a dig out! I have recently bought a 2007 Charisma 570 with a max load of 1500kg. However, until I get a suitable towcar my holidays will be restricted to the driveway!

My options are open and my finances can stretch to about 13k for the car. I wanted something like the Audi Avant 2. 0 TDI, 5 Series BMW, 2. 0 Passat or S-Max.

However, whenever I look into the weights of these cars its only the S-Max that seems to be capable (within the 85% consideration).

I am an experienced driver and have towed before, however with 2 young children and the options open, I want to get the best I can.

Can anyone with the charisma help?

Am i getting to hung up on the 85% rule? The cars mentioned fall around the 87%-94% ratio's.

Please advise. ........

:blink:

Do you need 4 wheel drive?

My current 2 favourites for larger vans are the Audi A6 Allroad, all wheel drive Avant estate, and the Volvo XC70, which is an all wheel drive version of the V70.

Neither fit into the "off roader" catergory, but its nice to have a bit of extra traction when needed, as well as power. Both cars in the diesel range are blisteringly good, both have self levelling suspension and both are highly regarded.

Another contender is the Mondeo estate TDCI, extremely capable and again in high spec has self levelling.

My van max is 1700 kgs, and although im not at 85%, the Audi is extremely hard to beat in my book.

The 85% rule is advisory only, and certainly so for new tuggers, but it depends on your confidence, decent loading of the van and experience. Though i would always suggest towing at as best % as possible, makes sense.

Edited by Brassneck

In Consilio Sapienta

tn_gallery_1122_263_6791.jpg

Do you need 4 wheel drive?

My current 2 favourites for larger vans are the Audi A6 Allroad, all wheel drive Avant estate, and the Volvo XC70, which is an all wheel drive version of the V70.