Adria Electrics

Pete C

You cant beat simplicity for an opening line in my book. ........... :lol:

So, are you going to post your problem or question on here, or shall we hold a séance?

How about multiple telepathy?

In Consilio Sapienta

tn_gallery_1122_263_6791.jpg

AS you will guess I'm new to this forum (but not frums in generall) and can only assume that I pressed the wrong key. However, if you would like to hold a seance I think it might be quicker!

Hi,

I'm new to caravaning. I've had an Adria Optima (4 berth, mid nineties I think) for about 3 years and it's not used much. I've always had problems with the battery and charging it. It never seemed to charge properly and didn't last long. A bit of Internet research revealed that my battery charger wasn't powerful enough and thaht the trickle charger probably wasn't too good. So I borrowed a Charger/Optimizer form my neighbour which revealed that my existing battery was defunct. So I've bought a new leisure battery (110Ah instead of 85Ah) and a new battery charger/optimizer which I can leave connected all of the time. I was originally thinking that I would use this new optimizer charger as a replacement for the existing Lab-Craft BC1210 but realised that I would then be able to keep the battery charged but not use it to power anything because it would not be connected to the caravan electrics. The charger has an output via an old Bakelite connector which has a 10Amp in line fuse fitted and there are also two 15Amp fuses next to the connector. I don’t know if this output is just straight from the battery or if it is modulated in some way. So would it be safe to leave the BC1210 connected as well as the optimiser or is there some way I can remove this and replace the wiring?

Leave it connected Pete.

I use an decent stage charger in my van, an Oxford Maximiser. I fitted it in and its been in my last 3 vans. Never disconnected anything to be honest, just let it do its job, which it does brilliantly.