Caravan Reverse Lights.

Bobinet

Hi all

I am completely new to caravanning and just got my caravan a few hours ago.

When I was being instructed and checked with my car, all indicator lights were working fine but not the reverse lights on the caravan. I bought a mondeo last week and had a witter tow bar fitted with al ko ball. I was told by the representative that it is not a legal requirement that the caravan reverse lights work. is that so?

Thank you

Bobby

It is legal and you dont need the reverse light on the van (though god knows why). If you want to get your car to power the:

1. Reversing light

2. Caravan fridge and

3. Charge your caravan battery whilst towing then you will need to fit the grey (12S i think) socket to your car.

some might do it themselves but i would get it done by a autoelectrician (especially on newer cars with the fancy electronics).

Regards

Lee

Please note that my opinions stated are those of an enthusiast not an expert and humble at that

2006 Hyundai Sante Fe towing a Coachman Vision 580/5

Hi all

I am completely new to caravanning and just got my caravan a few hours ago.

When I was being instructed and checked with my car, all indicator lights were working fine but not the reverse lights on the caravan. I bought a mondeo last week and had a witter tow bar fitted with al ko ball. I was told by the representative that it is not a legal requirement that the caravan reverse lights work. is that so?

Thank you

Bobby

Hi Bob,

They were right it is not a legal requirement, but has the car been wired correctly or at all, and don't forget if you have the

the two 7 pin sockets the reverse is in the 12S

Radiotwo

Steve - Land Cruiser Amazon Auto + Pageant Series 5 Champagne

The match between car and caravan is perfect in accordance with a mix of European standards. However, according to the British Towing Code the percentage (loaded caravan / kerbweight tow car) is 49%.