Total Novice Says Hi....and Help!!

rockmeister

evening all!

Well retirememnt looms and we fancy a year in europe to unwind, so a caravan seems one way to go. I am off this weekend to the local sales center, but before I go and look around, mouth open and in ignorance, I wondered where to start. ..make? Cost? Size? Build quality? Size?

Please might someone give me a few simple pointers to get me started.

evening all!

Well retirememnt looms and we fancy a year in europe to unwind, so a caravan seems one way to go. I am off this weekend to the local sales center, but before I go and look around, mouth open and in ignorance, I wondered where to start. ..make? Cost? Size? Build quality? Size?

Welcome.

http://www. caravanbuyersguide. co. uk/

http://www. caravanclub. co. uk/

Now a Swift motorhome owner.

evening all!

what size caravan you buy is dependant on the max allowed towload of your car this will detemine the MTPLM of the caravan. it is a recommendation that the MTPLM is around 85% of the kirbweight of the tow vehicle for first time towers,but this is a recommendation only. I would not myself exceed 95%

The MIRO is the ex factory weight of the van & does not include battery,s, gas cylinders,movers etc The MTPLM is the max allowable load of the caravan . the difference between the two is the allowable payload try to find a van with around 200+ kg s you will probably need it for extended touring

in 1 or 2 country,s the caravan must not exceed the kirbweight of the towcar.

Its difficult to recommend any paticular van as it all depends on your budget, as to layout many prefer the fixed bed but IMHO it does not leave a great deal of lounge area but saves making up the beds each night . We prefer to use the front sofa's as single beds as it saves having to disturb the other during those nightime excursions,which in turn eliminates L shaped seating arangements.