Tow Bar Electrics

b6x

Probably the dumbest question you'll read today, for which I apologise, however I'm totally new to this caravanning business after migrating from a motorhome. ..

Today I've had a towbar installed, a witter quantum something or other. Looks a pretty good job too however the installers have managed to install just single electrics. (witter apparently only sent the single kit so the installer bunged that on).

Am I right in thinking that I can still collect my caravan as planned on the weekend? And I'll just not have "caravanny" type electrics such as battery charging etc?

As a matter of interest, what else does the second electric point give? Surely not a seperate plug just for charging the leisure battery?

Thanks alot.

towcar #1: Vauxhall Vectra 1. 9 CDTi 150

towcar #2: Honda CR-V 2. 2 CDTi

caravan: Compass Corona 475

I would have a quick check, they may have fitted a single plug, but it could be the new 13 pin type which powers everything, but you need an adapter to get to 12N and 12S if that is what your caravan has. (If you have bought a brand new van you will most probably find that it has a 13 pin plug.) If not it will be a 12N which is all you need to work your road lights. The 12S supplies power to charge batteries and power the fridge controlled by a relay so only supply power when the engine is running, and a constant supply that does not work via the relay.

Think I've got that right!....

New caravans built after 1st September 2008 will have a single 13-pin plug - this is functionally the same as the old 12N/12S twin socket system but give more reliable connections.

You need to find out what plug your caravan has and what socket your towing vehicle has - I'd love to be wrong but I think you'll have incompatible connections - some towbar fitters are a long way behind, some haven't caught up with the 1998 changes yet!