Flat Battery While In Storage

southcoastsounds

I am new to carvanning and have used my 2004 Abbey GTS217 Vogue 3 times without too many problems. However, I just went across to the storage site to pick it up and found that the leisure battery was completely flat. Its a new battery and the caravan had only been left for a couple of months. I've not had this problem before when leaving the caravan at the storage site for a month or so.

I've never been too sure about the various settings on the switch and fuses module and wonder if I left it in the wrong position (car, van, centre position)? There was definitely nothing electrical left on in the caravan such as lights, fridge or heater.

Can anyone give me a clue as to what I've done wrong please?

Thanks in anticipation.

Tom

www. southcoastsounds. org. uk

--------------------

Tom,

The selector switch should be in center position, while your vehicle is in storage, as this isolates the leisure battery. The power switch on the control panel (above the door) does not isolate the leisure battery; it simply energizes a relay, which switches off the van. However, this relay does draw power to remain energized, and therefore, will discharge your leisure battery over time. It should be used for short use only (i. e. leaving your vehicle for a few hours, while on site).

I would guess that you have left the selector switch on the "caravan position" and turned the control panel off (using the power switch) which has caused the drain.

I hope that helps to explain the system a little better.

Ash

Swift Group Website: www. swiftgroup. co. uk

Swift Group Handbooks: www. swiftgroup. co. uk/caravans/handbooks

Tom,